Epping Ongar Light FantasticSelected dates - 19 November to 15 January

Tickets now on sale - scroll down to buy!

LIGHT UP THE LINESIDE WITH THE WINTER EXPERIENCE THAT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO MISS! 

  • A train with a twist - adorned with hundreds of colourful lights
  • Specially illuminated lineside displays
  • On board narration and music
  • The winter experience you will not want to miss! 

Epping Ongar Light Fantastic Train

 

The magical Epping Ongar Light Fantastic returns this winter with updated displays and light show! 

A truly wonderful experience of lights and music is coming to the Epping Ongar Railway this year, featuring a specially designed show to highlight our stations, rural setting and woodlands, that you can experience from the comfort of a train carriage. It's the winter experience that you will not want to miss! 

The magic begins as soon as you arrive at Ongar. As the train makes a grand arrival, marvel at the brightly lit carriages, and once on board the train, let the magic unfold as the music plays and the story begins. As you experience the fantastic illuminations, keep your eyes peeled for amazing displays that can only be seen from the comfort of your seat, and, if you believe in magic, look out for the mystical Tomte hiding along the way.

Our Epping Ongar Light Fantastic services start on 19 November.

Please note that Santa will not be appearing for these trains as he, and the elves, will be busy wrapping presents. If you wish to see Santa at the Epping Ongar Railway, follow the link for details of our series of Santa Special Trains.

 

Tickets

Tickets are just £20 per person inclusive of train travel. 

We can also offer exclusive use of a compartment, at £120 for up to 6 people, or £160 for up to 8 people. 

Additional information, and terms and conditions of booking, including our refund policy, can be found here.


Getting to Ongar station

This year, the Epping Ongar Light Fantastic service runs to and from Ongar station. You will not be able to join the Epping Ongar Light Fantastic service at North Weald as the train will not stop there. Whilst there is only parking for blue badge holders at Ongar station there are a number of car parks a 5 minute walk from the station. Please navigate to CM5 9AB. You can find details more details about parking at Ongar by following this link

Our heritage bus service will not be running in conjunction with this event. 


Dates and Train Times

The Epping Ongar Light Fantastic is planned to be hauled by a steam locomotive for part of the journey. There is a choice of departures on the dates shown. You must travel on the date and time of train chosen when booking. The experience lasts for approximately 1 hour. 

Standard Seating

Saturday 19 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 20 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 26 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 27 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 2 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 3 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 4 December   18.25 20.05
Friday 9 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 10 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 11 December   18.25 20.05
Friday 16 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 17 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 18 December   18.25 20.05
Tuesday 20 December   18.25 20.05
Wednesday 21 December   18.25 20.05
Wednesday 28 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Thursday 29 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 30 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 1 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Monday 2 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 6 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 7 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 8 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 13 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 14 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 15 January 16.45 18.25 20.05

Compartments

Saturday 19 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 20 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 26 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 27 November 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 2 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 3 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 4 December   18.25 20.05
Friday 9 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 10 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 11 December   18.25 20.05
Friday 16 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 17 December   18.25 20.05
Sunday 18 December   18.25 20.05
Tuesday 20 December   18.25 20.05
Wednesday 21 December   18.25 20.05
Wednesday 28 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Thursday 29 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 30 December 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 1 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Monday 2 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 6 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 7 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 8 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Friday 13 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Saturday 14 January 16.45 18.25 20.05
Sunday 15 January 16.45 18.25 20.05

Availability

The colours in the tables above indicate availability as follows:

  Good availability
  Limited availability
  Fully booked

 

CAUTION: This event includes some flashing lights so may be unsuitable for people suffering from epilepsy.


Please note that the Epping Ongar Railway endeavours to operate these services with a steam locomotive. The Railway reserves the right to substitute the steam locomotive for a diesel should circumstances dictate.

Additional information and Terms and conditions of booking

Book Online Now!